Acting Bad

Some people claim I have blinders on when it comes to BTVS.  They say I’m blind to the occasional bad acting that pulls them out and damages their enjoyment of the show.   This may be true to an extent, but I’m far from blind to this.  I do believe though that some people carry around blinders of their own for other shows that , say, have a bigger budget and can afford flashier effects.  BTVS generally didn’t have a big budget – even in its prime. What has drawn me to Buffy from the beginning isn’t the acting, although I think there are some stellar examples of good acting in this show, rather it is the writing, the use of language and the depth this show often exhibits which can be glimpsed in the increasing complexity of its characters throughout its seven seasons (and beyond – thank you Dark Horse Comics).  BTVS intelligently and thoughtfully deals with issues of female agency, power, friendship, loss, fear, bravery, corruption,  redemption, forgiveness and mercy like no other show I’ve ever seen.  There are shows with better acting – although I might on occasion argue that it’s really the editing that’s better.

Leave a Reply

